This will be looking at Interactive Websites that can be used on the computer, with an IWB or via a data projector. Next to each one of these tools will be a (P) for Primary or (S) for secondary or (PS) applicable to both.

General Interactive Music Ed Sites (usually with Games)
  1. PBS Kids: http://pbskids.org/games/music.html
  2. Playmusic.org: http://www.playmusic.org
  3. Bobby McFerrin: Don't worry be Happy and other interactive songs: http://www.bobbymcferrin.com/sing_and_play_with_bobby.php
  4. Music at School UK (Year 7 Upwards): http://www.musicatschool.co.uk/
  5. Musical Mysteries: http://www.bbc.co.uk/northernireland/schools/4_11/music/mm/index.shtml
  6. Creative Kids Central: http://www.classicalkusc.org/kids/index.asp
  7. Sphinx Kids: http://www.sphinxkids.org/
  8. Incredibox: http://www.incredibox.fr/
  9. Online Music Game (P-2): http://www.fisher-price.com/us/fun/games/musicmixer/default.asp
  10. Viva Zone (Musica Viva): http://www.musicaviva.com.au/vivazone/
  11. Karen Garrett: http://www.musictechteacher.com/musicquizzes.htm
  12. Online Music Games: http://www.ababasoft.com/music/
  13. Interactive Orchestra (Conduct Film Score/Classical Music): http://www.bbc.co.uk/musictv/maestro/discover/game/
  14. Creating Music Site: http://creatingmusic.com/new/sketch/index.html
  15. Online Metronome: http://www.metronomeonline.com/

Sequencing/Mixing Programs:
  1. http://www.squidoo.com/soundtoys This is for (PS) and has a few different components to it. Different styles to mix up. Web 2.0 based, so it doesn't require a download.
  2. BBC Radio 3: http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio3/makingtracks/studio.shtml
  3. Aviary.com: http://www.aviary.com/ Music Creator and Audio Editor
  4. Looplabs: http://www.looplabs.com/
  5. Soundation: http://www.soundation.com/
  6. 25 Digital Free Audio Editors: http://www.hongkiat.com/blog/25-free-digital-audio-editors/
  7. 30 Free Online Multimedia Tools: http://www.hongkiat.com/blog/30-free-online-multimedia-photo-audio-video-editors/
  8. Audio and Pocasting Tools: http://webtools4u2use.wikispaces.com/Audio+%26+Podcasting
  9. Audio Tool: http://www.audiotool.com/
  10. Place to store your files: (Online storage) http://soundcloud.com/tour
  11. Cut MP3 online: http://mp3cut.net/

Music Theory:
  1. Scotland's Equivalent to Senior Music Resources: http://www.ltscotland.org.uk/learnlisteningonline/
  2. Music Theory.Net: http://www.musictheory.net/
  3. eMusic Theory: http://www.emusictheory.com/practice.html
  4. Music Flashcards: http://www.musicards.net/
  5. 8Notes: http://www.8notes.com/theory/
  6. PracticeSpot: http://www.practicespot.com/theorycenter.phtml?cat=4
  7. Dolmetsch Online: http://www.dolmetsch.com/musictheory43.htm

Music Ear Training:
  1. Good ear: http://www.good-ear.com/
  2. Teoria.com: http://www.teoria.com/
  3. Interval Songs Example Chart: http://www.earmaster.com/intervalsongs/
  4. Learn2hear: http://www.learn2hear.org/start.php
  5. Free Online Ear Training: http://www.iwasdoingallright.com/tools/v2_24/ear_training.aspx
  6. Big Ears Online Ear Training: http://www.iwasdoingallright.com/tools/v2_24/ear_training.aspx
  7. Flash Music Games: http://www.flashmusicgames.com/
  8. Music Intervals Tutor: http://www.musicalintervalstutor.info/
  9. Online Ear Training: http://ababasoft.com/music/teory_ear_training.html

Classical Music/Info on Instruments:
  1. Keeping Score Project with San Francisco Symphony Orchestra: http://www.keepingscore.org/
  2. Info on orchestral instruments: http://ngfl.northumberland.gov.uk/music/orchestra/contents.htm
  3. Classical.Net: http://www.classical.net/
  4. Thinkquest on Chamber Music: http://library.thinkquest.org/27110/frames.html?tqskip=1&tqskip1=1&tqtime=0216
  5. CHICO Instrumental Encyclopedia: http://www2.si.umich.edu/chico/instrument/
  6. Peter and the Wolf PBS: http://www.pbs.org/wnet/gperf/lessons/peter-the-wolf-exploring-melody/overview/402/
  7. Symphony Interactive Webquest: http://library.thinkquest.org/22673/forms1.html
  8. The Museum of Musical Instruments (MoMI): http://www.themomi.org/museum/index.html

Music History:
  1. Classics for Kids:This site is great for accessing classical music (Suitable for PS) There are interactive games as well. http://www.classicsforkids.com/
  2. Music Notes: http://library.thinkquest.org/15413/
  3. Music History: http://www.essentialsofmusic.com/
  4. Mozart Project: http://www.mozartproject.org/

Orchestra Websites that are interactive:
  1. New York Philharmonic Website: http://www.nyphilkids.org/main.phtml?
  2. Boston Philharmonic Website: http://www.bsomusic.org/bsokids/
  3. San Francisco Website: http://www.sfskids.org/
  4. Dallas Symphony Orchestra Website: http://www.dsokids.com/
  5. Carnegie Hall: http://www.carnegiehall.org/article/explore_and_learn/art_online_resources_listening_adventures.html
  6. Nashville Symphony Orchestra: http://www.nashvillesymphony.org/nsokids/

Music by Subjects (i.e. Musical Theatre, Opera, Rock etc)
  1. Musical Theatre Webquest: https://www.heathdale.vic.edu.au/webpublications/music_folder/MusicalWebQuest/
  2. BBC - Music Sites: http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/websites/4_11/site/music.shtml
  3. Blues: http://www.pbs.org/theblues/
  4. Jazz: http://www.pbs.org/jazz/index.html
  5. Rock and Roll Hall of Fame:http://rockhall.com/education/
  6. BBC Orchestra Page: http://www.bbc.co.uk/orchestras/learn/
  7. Musicals.Net: http://musicals.net/
  8. Musicals 101: http://www.musicals101.com/index.html

Interactive Instruments:
  1. Virtual Piano: http://www.bgfl.org/bgfl/custom/resources_ftp/client_ftp/ks2/music/piano/index.htm
  2. Virtual DrumKit: http://www.kenbrashear.com/
  3. Virtual Drum Machine: http://www.onemotion.com/flash/drum-machine/
  4. Virtual Music Wall: http://www.muxicall.com/
  5. Interactive Turntable: http://www.turntables.de/start.htm#
  6. Interactive Boomwhackers: http://www.musick8kids.com/html/play_bw.php
  7. Virtual Xylophone: http://www.giveusahome.co.uk/kidscorner/xylophone/Xylophone.html
  8. Virtual Matrix: http://www.inudge.net
  9. Virtual Piano: http://www.thevirtualpiano.com/
  10. Virtual Drum Kit using typing keyboard: http://www.ronwinter.tv/drums.html
  11. Virtual Drum Kit: http://www.buckle.com/static/bscene/games/drums/drums.html
  12. Virtual Drum Machine: http://www.artopod.com/groovelab/